From the rule book: "Gothmog’s die is removed from the game during the Recover Action Dice phase, if:
— Gothmog has been removed from play, or
— Either its Army result or its Eye result (which show the remove symbol) was chosen and the Witch-king (any version) is in play, or
— The Witch-king, The Black Captain is in play."
My question: Why does the second bullet statement say "any version" of the Witch-king along with a die removal symbol, then on the third bullet it says "the Black Captain is in play." So I take it that if the black captain enters play, then Gothmog's die is removed regardless of what he rolls. Am I understanding it correctly? If so, then it is redundant to say "any version" of the witch-king in the second bullet. It would be easier to say in the 2nd bullet: A die result which shows a 'remove symbol' icon was chosen and the Chief of the Ringwaiths is in play.
Fun game, but the language used is sometimes convoluted.
Good point in logic, Mike. I think they wrote it this way to emphasize that the remove (star) symbol does NOT have any effect if neither version of the Witch King is in play. Either that or they just missed the implication. Note I'm not a moderator, so this is just an opinion.
There does seem to be some overlap between points 2 and 3. I suspect point 2 was copied and pasted from the Balrog and then not modified for the addition of point 3. In any case, Mike's interpretation is correct.
"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok