I just played my first game of WotR last night. We floundered with the rules and spent a lot of time with our noses to the rule-book. What we still don't understand is if a defending player can imediately retreat into a stronghold on the first round of combat, or if he has to survive one round and then retreat on the next. There is some red text in the rulebook that makes it sound like you can retreat immediately, but some of the cards make it sound like a special ability, so we ended up ruling that you can immediately retreat into a stronghold if there is one, and the cards allow you to retreat into a siege even when there isn't a stronghold. Are we even close?
Yes you are close. You can retreat into a siege when first attacked if there is a stronghold in the area, you do not need a card to do this. The attacker must then use another action dice later to attack again.
There are cards that also allow you to retreat into a siege. This would be played in a field battle ( a field battle occurs if you do not go into siege). You would do this as perhaps a way of tempting the attacker into using a good combat card that is then wasted.
Sieges only occur in regions with a stronghold.
Last Edit: Oct 28, 2012 21:55:29 GMT 1 by gamesjart
Ok, so the SP attacks Helms Deep. The FP can either immediately announce that he retreats into a siege, and no cards are played because no battle ensues (that turn), or the FP can act like he's not retreating in the hopes that the SP plays a card, and then the FP uses a card to retreat. So it's not a location change, it's a timing change. Those cards can still only be used at strongholds.