If the defender opts to fight a field battle when defending a stronghold and plays Scouts as his combat card, is he permitted to retreat into the stronghold?
Shadow player cried foul when I pulled this manoeuver. He argued that retreating into the stronghold is a distinct event from retreating from a battle, and that Scouts allows the latter. I argued that the intention of the rule allowing retreat into a stronghold is simply to get to a siege battle without forcing the Free People to fight a field battle first, and so using Scouts to retreat into a stronghold is more in keeping with the spirit of the rules.
In the end he decided to allow me to play Scouts in that way, but the rulebook is silent on the issue and the errata don't seem to cover this situation. Any help?