Post by genghissean on Nov 15, 2010 17:43:30 GMT 1
1. After reading the Coll.ed. some rules and cards are worded differently. eg. it appears that any card allowing you to recruit in a free settlement does NOT allow you to recruit if the settlement is under siege. (Eomer, and Helm's Deep) So unlike the movie, Eomer cannot be recruited with an elite in Helm if it is under siege and save the day. In the book Eomer was In helm, so we should make an exception if free settlement means no siege.
2. Cards that specifically NAME the stonghold CAN be cruited under siege. eg. (guards of the citadel in Minas Tiriath and Dol Amoroth, or even just like ANY THREE SAURON STRONGHOLDS. If it says recruit in a stronghold, then under siege doesn't matter. Mostly only Rohan then can't muster under siege.
3. If the enemy leaves the siege, the towers are removed of course, but the catapults remain, correct?
4. Galadriel can recruit under siege, but can she BE recruited under siege? This is a BIG one. It seems like no, but she should be able to.
5.When the shadow has siege superioty and it goes another round without reducing an elite, does the FP recieve penatlies on the combat role 2nd round as well?
6. In a three person game, the FP is not allowed to do two army moves with the same nation. Does that mean elves and Gondor are one nation,meaning you can't muster Lorien, Minat Tirath, Lorien back to back. It would have to go Lorien, Rohan, Gondor. Is this correct?
Post by genghissean on Nov 15, 2010 20:15:36 GMT 1
thanks for the quick reply,
1. according to the new wording, a besieged stronghold is no longer consider a "free settlement", free settlement means free of enemy army. Hence rohan cards dont actually name Helm's Deep. Thus, I don't think you can with the Rohan cards. If it says wherever a companion is, I suppose you could, or if it says in a specific stronghold, sure, but are you sure in a free settlement?
2. What about when a card allows you to upgrade a regular to an elite?
3. Saruman cannot use his ability to UPgrade to elite under siege cuz that would be impossible to take him out.
4. How can I convice my opponent from the rules that I can recruit Galadrial under siege i.e.use her special ability BEFORE she is in play.
5. the rules state if the enemy army leaves siege engines are destroyed. my opponent suggested that meant mine as well, my only arguement was thematically that would be silly as I can build siege engines when I'm not even in a war or at war.
6. ahh, so the elves are a nation and gondor is a nation, and Elves and Gondor are FP player 1 ONLY in a 4 person game ( ps. I would never play a 4 player game)
1. It says on pages 32, 36, and 37 that Event cards may be used to recruit in a Stronghold under siege.
4. From the errata:
The rules for Galadriel should say:
If Sauron or the Elves are “At War”, Lórien is controlled by the Free Peoples (even if it is under siege), and Gandalf the White is not in play, you may use a Muster Action Die result to play Lady Galadriel in Lórien.
Lady Galadriel is a Level 3 Companion for all Event card and Combat card effects.
5. No, the rules say that if an Army leaves a Stronghold Region all Siege Engines in that Army are destroyed. In the case of a besieging Army leaving, the defending Army's Siege Engines are unaffected.
"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok