I thought the character action token lets you make partial character movements and partial rallies, while the muster/army token lets you make partial muster and partial army movements?
Interestingly, the summary sheets for both scenarios state that a partial muster action can be used to place one recruitment token in a friendly settlement. According to the rulebook this is not possible. In fact, muster actions can never be used to place recruitment tokens but only to flip them, right?
The Gimli and Legolas counters can be used to be placed on the corresponding Gimli & Legolas event card (instead of using the actual figures as described on the card).
Where does it say that the action token allows the FP to put recruitments tokens in a Settlement?
Actually nowhere. But as mentioned above on page 10 of the rulebook (in the generic rules for both scenarios) it says:
"Each Action token can be used to either: • [...] • Flip one Recruitment token in one Settlement to recruit one Unit; or • [...]"
So it says flip and not put, but it also says settlement and not recruitment area. It does NOT allow for placement of recruitment tokens, neither in settlements nor in recruitment areas.
The Rohan AND the Gondor player aids (rules summary sheets), however, state something different:
"Partial Muster: Flip one recruitment token, or place one recruitment token in one Recruitment Area."
The latter alternative of the action would be useless for the FP in the Rohan scenario as there are no recruitment areas for the FP.
So my question is: are these discrepancies intended by the game designers (i.e. are these special scenario rules that override the generic rules) or is it just an oversight on the rules summary sheets?