Here's something I am beginning to suspect I misunderstood about the rules:
Are attacks other than sieges between adjacent provinces? I'd imagined that the battles took place within the same province (i.e. that the attacker moved into the defender's province), but based on a few comments I've seen about Saruman (that he could lead attacks OUT of Isengard, even though he has zero movement), I'm guessing that you simply attack adjacent stacks with an attack? Is this right?
Secondly, with regards to Saruman in particular, I see on his card that he can use a Muster die to muster a regular in every Isengard settlement. How many of these are there? If a normal muster die allows two regulars to be mustered (albeit in different nations), is this power really very useful?
Yes, you attack from an adjacent region and then decide how many units to move in if you capture it.
How you use Saruman's mustering powers depends on the situation. If this is an all out assault on Rohan then mustering 2 elites in place of 2 regulars in Isengard is more productive than a regular in each of the 3 settlements - Isengard, North & South Dunland. However you start with 4 regulars and 1 elite in Isengard. Mustering twice gives you 5 elites and no regulars. You need some regulars as cannon fodder and also to protect Saruman as your elites are needed to spearhead your advances (especially as they count as re-rolls as well -Saruman's greatest power). The third reason for using the regular mustering is to increase your Dunland forces either for a joint pre-emptive strike on Lorien through Moria or a raid on the North. To help you in this The Rage of the Dunendings card allows you to recruit 2 regulars in a free region to N or S Dunland and then move to this region up to 4 Isengard units from N or S Dunland creating some interesting possibilities!
Thanks, Steve. So can you attack a single province from only one adjacent province? Is there an exception to that when relieving a siege? I.E., can I attack a besieging force with both troops in an adjacent province and the besieged garrison?
You can only use one force at a time. This is implicit in the action dice where two forces can be moved with the movement die but only one if it attacks. Similarly a character dice can be used to move/attack with one force (army) headed by a leader. So you have 10 units max to play with which is why it is useful to pre-load your army with elites and also get lots of leaders to provide the re-rolls.