Thank you for responding so promptly to my Smeagol question yesterday. I have scanned all 28 pages of this Forum and have had many of my questions answered. I apologize if I missed an answer and am asking a question that has been already answered before.
Separating Companions From the Fellowship: Rules state that "can separate one Companion (or group) from the Fellowship by using a Character Action Die result (unless the Fellowship is in Mordor, where this is prohibited, see page 59)." Page 59 refers to just the "Mordor Track". Should this prohibition say "in Mordor" or "on the Mordor Track"?
Example: I recently played a game where Pippin was the guide and used his ability to reduce corruption by one and then wanted to separate from the fellowship when it was in Morannon per his ability as the guide. The SP argued that this was prohibited since he was in Mordor. The FP argued that the intent of the rule was just prohibited when on the "Mordor Track". We decided in favor of the FP and that Pippin could separate from the fellowship and move one step (fellowship progress counter on zero and Pippin level 1) out of Morannon. Did we decide correctly?
Post by genghissean on Feb 11, 2011 21:02:37 GMT 1
FYI you CAN separate companions while on the Mordor track, but they are immediately captured and fed to the orcs . Thus, you can use Pippins guide ability to separate to reduce by one, except Pippin is removed from play. Also, the SP can force the FP to separate compaions in Mordor with a card (up to three) and all of them are immediatley removed from play.