Roberto answered that as he recalls it the wording was deliberate to limit the Corsair's movement (hence only movement to Free Regions) but that the Gondor coastline could be reached by an Attack (even if the Region was empty).
He is checking with Francesco and Marco before the official ruling though.
Any news about that one? Did he check with the others?
"Re-reading the original text, I am now convinced that the original intent was that "free" meant "without enemy units" and that you should allow to do a sea transport following the same general rules of land movement, except where otherwise specified. However I'd like to be backed up by Francesco on this."
So, still no definitive answer but the "Free Regions" should be "free of enemy units" Regions in the rule for the Corsairs.
The Event card might still be "Free Regions" as it is more powerfull.
The following has been added to the FAQ as errata (and will be used in the rules for the Collector's Edition):
Q Can the Corsair ships transport Shadow Army units into a Region containing a Free Peoples Settlement but no enemy Army units? The rules don't seem to allow this at it says:
"The Shadow player can move an Army from a Region containing a Ship to any other Free Region containing a Ship using one of the two movements of an Army die (or using a Character die, if the Army has a Leader)."
A Free Region is defined by the FAQ as "a Region free of enemy armies and/or enemy controlled Settlements."
A The Corsair ships can transport Shadow Army units into a Region containing a Free Peoples Settlement but no enemy Army units.
The rule should read as follows:
As long as a Region is free of enemy Army units and contains a Ship the Shadow player can move an Army from a Region containing a Ship to that Region using one of the two movements of an Army die (or using a Character die, if the Army has a Leader).
Still waiting on a definitive answer on the Event card...