I've played about 50 games of WotR but one big question still bothers me on the mechanics of entering the Mordor track. If someone could please confirm the following I would appreciate it.
1) I am 3 spaces away from Minas Morgul and I am at 3 on the Fellowship track during the Fellowship Phase at the start of the turn (hidden). I can declare the fellowship there and put myself on the first space of the Mordor track during the same Fellowship phase without drawing any tiles.
2) During my turn I am 3 spaces away from Minas Morgul and I am at 2 on the fellowship track. I move the fellowship, but the Shadow rolls a "6" and I draw a reveal. I decide to move the fellowship to Minas Morgul. I draw an extra hunt tile, because I placed the Fellowship in Minas Morgul. Then, during the following Fellowship phase, I can put the fellowship on the Mordor track revealed (or if I hid the fellowship with an action later in my turn, put in on hidden).
By the way, the link to the Rules FAQ doesn't seem to work for the English version.
I am now severely confused after the above notes. This has been my biggest wonder also. Was there a typo in the first post? I totally understand '1'. However, item '2' doesn't make sense to me based on the values of 3 and 2 being used. If the Fellowship is 3 spaces away from Minas Morgul, and have 2 movement points to spend from the Fellowship track, how does the Fellowship move 3 spaces to Minas Morgul? If the 2 for movement was a typo, how is item '2' different than item '1'? Thanks for any further help.
It's not a typo. In the first example, the Fellowship has already moved three times, hence the Fellowship Track being at 3. In the second example, the third move is being made, so the Fellowship Track is advanced to 3 before the Hunt is rolled for.
"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok
I am still playing 1st edition and I just narrowly lost a game playing the Free Peoples. The case was identical to the situation 2) refered to above - but from the wording of the rules we figured I could NOT declare a revealed Fellowship in Mordor, because on page 18 it says:
"If the Fellowship is hidden (by the Progress Counter showing the “Hidden” side up), its position can be declared by the Free Peoples player during the Fellowship Phase. (...) It is mandatory that the Free Peoples player declares the Fellowship in either of these locations during a Fellowship Phase to begin the last part of the journey to Mount Doom."
There is no reference to a Fellowship being revealed in Minas Morgul or Morannon, but this seemed to imply that you cannot put a revealed Fellowship on the Mordor track.
This interpretation was fatal to me: I lost a crucial turn I could only hide the Fellowship and after the next turn I was only three steps away from Mount Doom when the Shadow sacked Minas Tirith.
So: Does your reply above apply also to 1st edition?