"At the start of the game, all Settlements belong to the Nation in which their region is located."
"If the original owner of the region is able to recapture it, the Settlement Control Marker is removed and any Victory Points earned from the conquest are lost."
We always thought and played it that the FP was able to recapture any settlement with any nation. But if you read the above rules more carefully then only the orignal owner can recapture it and nowhere in the rulebook is referred to as the original owner being the player, on the contrary a settlement belongs to the Nation. And wouldn't the rulebook otherwise state "If the player is able to recapture it" Where am I misinterpreting the rules?