Alright, we're avid board gamers and just got this for Christmas. I feel pretty stupid because despite reading and re-reading the rules, we were all very confused and had trouble getting started. There are tons of questions we have but I'll start with one that immediately jumped out:
Do I have to draw cards at the beginning of each turn?
I know it says you draw in phase 1, but it doesn't say if it's optional or not. The reason I ask, is because after 3 turns (less if 4 players), you have a full hand of six cards and then you have to draw two more and discard 2 since you already have 6. Since the discarded cards are never brought into play again, this seems like a waste. Or is this the point? Part of the strategy? Play your cards or run the risk of never getting to use them. I'd appreciate any advice and I assure you this will not be the last question I post.
It's worth mentioning that characters that can add extra cards (Gandalf the Grey and the Witch-King) do not have to do so, as the ability is optional. So if you have a bunch of good cards and the end of the turn is coming up, then don't draw for them.