Two questions about the Corsairs of Umbar in the expansion:
1) After mustering 2 corsairs into the coast next to Umbar, does moving one of them 2 spaces into the coast next to Pelargir (using part of an army die result) activate the Gondor nation?
2) Is the following move allowed? -- Move one of the 2 corsairs from the coast next to Umbar to the coast next to Pelargir using an army die for one turn; then move the same ship to the coast next to Dol Amroth with an army die on another turn; then attack Dol Amroth with an army of 10 that is in Umbar (there is still another ship in the coast next to Umbar). I just want to make sure this is allowed since the wording of the rules is a tad confusing.
Post by Lord Aragorn on Feb 23, 2010 22:55:12 GMT 1
1) No, they do not activate Gondor. Corsair Ships are not Shadow Army units, and they follow special rules.
2) Not sure what you asked. example: You use 1 Army movement to move a ship to Pelargir and one army on the map You use 1 Army movement to move a ship to Dol Amroth and one army on the map You use 1 Army (or Character) to attack from Umbar to Dol Amroth
I have a question here. There are 6 corsair ships. You bring them into play by mustering placing 2 ships in Umbar. You can then move one of those 2 ships max 2 regions away, so Pelargrir. Next muster can be used to continue with that one ship from Pelargrir to Dol Amroth. Next army/character action die, you move the 10 army strong easterlings from Umbar to attack Dol Amroth and attack with them. FP decides on a field battle or retreat immediately into the stronghold. That is what is stated above. Why in that scenario would there need to be 6 ships in the game?
My take on it. You need at least 1 ship in EACH region 2 regions aopart from each other, forming a chain like the Ents. I just don't get it when you can just keep moving that 1 ship to i.e. the grey havens and then have an un-interrupted, never to be broken link (unless the SP army is defeated or retreats in the region where the ship is) between Umbar and the Grey Havens. I think you need many ships for that, 1 in each region 2 regions away from each other. Am I incorrect in that? Is it that easy to use the corsairs?
Last Edit: Nov 13, 2013 13:32:05 GMT 1 by hendriks65
Lord Aragorn's answer was correct. You can move an Army from one region containing a ship to another region containing a ship regardless of the distance. Having additional ships simply gives you a network of regions within which to move Armies.
"War is much more fun when you're winning!" - General Martok
Thanks Krieghund. So, to clarify, with activating the corsairs, you get 2 ships in Umbar. You can use the army movement dices to move those ships up to 2 coastal regions up per movement. In principle, it's 12 coastal regions to the Grey Havens, so that would require 6 uses of half an army movement dice, using the other half for another army or another ship. In that way, you would end up with 1 ship in Umbar and 1 in Grey Havens. SO, you would be able to attack the grey havens directly from Umbar, taking care that you do not lose Umbar as you would also lose the ship, the only way to lose a ship is if the coastal region that ship is in is conquered by the FP or you have to retreat. I believe there are cards for the FP that can eliminate a ship? And probably cards for the SP that allow extra ship movement. I suppose you place the ship half into the coastline of the region it is in, as not all sea regions are seperate from the coastal regions.